celtic night performers



Skiltron is a folk metal band founded in Buenos Aires in 2004 by Emilio Souto. Since 2018, the band has moved to Europe (Finland, Spain and France). Skiltron are considered one of the few South American metal bands to combine heavy metal and Celtic music, a style usually more common in many parts of Europe. They are also well known for incorporating bagpipes into their music. The name "Skiltron" comes from a variation of the word schiltron, a formation used by the Scots during the Wars of Independence.

Beginning with a three-song demo in 2004 called Gathering the Clans, the band released their debut full-length album The Clans Have United in 2006 through European record label Underground Symphony. Their second album, Beheading the Liars, followed in 2008, and their third album, The Highland Way, in 2010, with each album steadily building on the band's unique style and sound. Their latest album is Legacy of Blood, released in 2016 on Trollzorn Records.

Most of their first live concerts took place in Argentina, where they shared the stage with bands such as Grave Digger, In Extremo and Korpiklaani, with whom the group shared a tour of South America in 2010. In 2012, they made their debut playing in Europe in the UK. , where they were joined as a guest by Sabbat and Skyclad vocalist Martin Walkyier.

After the release of their fourth album, Into the Battleground, in 2013, the band began touring Europe regularly, playing festivals such as Wacken, Bloodstock and more. They could thus share the stage with bands such as Judas Priest, Slayer, In Flames, King Diamond, Avantasia and others. The release of their latest album in 2016 was followed by a European tour where they played 50 shows in 20 countries in two months. They toured the UK alongside pirate metal band Iron Seawolf. In early 2017, they played in Japan for the first time, sharing three shows with German bands Equilibrium and Suidakra.


  • Emilio Souto − electric guitar, mandolin, bouzouki
  • Ignacio López – bass
  • Pereg Ar Bagol – bagpipes
  • Joona Nislin – drums
  • Paolo Ribaldini – vocals